top of page

County Council

Bruce Rivers District 1 Coucilman

Bruce E. Rivers

District 1

Term Expires: December 31, 2024

Gerald Miller District 2 Councilman

Gerald L. Miller

District 2 

Term Expires: December 31, 2026

Ethan T. Foard

District 3

Term Expires: December 31, 2026

Douglas Curtis District 4 Councilman

Douglas A. Curtis

District 4

Term Expires: December 31, 2026

Benjamin Conklin District 5 Councilman

Benjamin Conklin Jr.

District 5

Term Expires: December 31, 2024

Hattie Burns District 6 Councilwoman

Hattie Burns

District 6

Term Expires: December 31, 2024

Todd Smallwood District 7 Councilman

William Todd Smallwood

District 7

Term Expires: December 31, 2024

Mary Anderson District 8 Councilwoman

Mary D. Anderson, Vice Chair

District 8

Term Expires: December 31, 2026

Rhett Butler District 9 Councilman

William Rhett Butler, Chairman

District 9

Term Expires: December 31, 2024

Our Mission:

It is the mission of Chesterfield County Council to improve the overall quality of life for our citizens by fostering a climate that is progressive in social, educational, and economic opportunities while keeping the safety of our citizens and protection of the environment first and foremost. Chesterfield County Council will strive to provide leadership to all segments and sections of the County while promoting unity and equal treatment to all of our citizens. Chesterfield County Council will seek to ensure citizen participation in the governance of our County as we work to deliver the highest quality of service in the most cost efficient, effective, and accountable manner.

Form of Government:

Chesterfield County Council is comprised of elected officials from nine-single member districts. All council members serve four-year staggered terms. Chesterfield County operates under the Council/Administrator form of government. Under this form of government, County Council determines policies which are implemented under the direction of an appointed County Administrator.

Council Meeting Schedule:

Chesterfield County Council meets the 1st Wednesday of each month with the exception of holidays. Meetings are held in the Council Chambers, 178 Mill Street, Chesterfield, SC. Meetings will begin at 9:00 a.m. Prior notification will be provided Council for any change to the dates and time of meetings. Special Called Meetings may be held at any time with a twenty four hour notice provided to the public by notice on the County website and a notice on the door of the Council Chambers. All meetings are open to the public with the exception of Executive Session.

Appearances before Council:

Should any person, group, or organization request to be heard upon any matter at a regular or special meeting of Council, such person, group, or organization shall submit a written request to the Chair of County Council to be placed on the agenda for meeting at least eight (8) days prior to the date set for such meeting. The request shall specifically state the reason for the appearance.

The written request should be sent to Susie Boswell, Clerk to County Council, 178 Mill Street, Chesterfield, South Carolina 29709. The request can also be emailed to Susie at or faxed to her at 843-623-3945.

Page Continues
bottom of page